ACT NOW OR WAIT FOR A MIRACLE?

Climate change poses a major challenge to our society. The German per capita CO2 emissions are at an average of 9.6tCO2/a. The worldwide emissions target is between 2.0tCO2/a per capita in 2050. Quite horrifying considering that a holiday flight from Hamburg to Majorca (Spain) already causes emissions of 1.226kgCO2 for one person.
Some are still looking for "the" technical solution that solves this problem for us without having to change our habits. This might be the first problem. Nevertheless different concepts exists to deal with the problem. Just to name a few that have gotten the most attenteion recently. Shading of the atmosphere with giant satellite-like solar sails that are circulating in space around the earth, in order to reduce the solar radiation on our planet and thus reduce the Greenhouse effect. Or air filters, which filter out the CO2 and then enclose 2000m below the ground or the seabed. This is already known wrom industrial CCS systems at coal power plants.

Earth Shading

CO² Filtration

CO²

C

Q

C

C

Industrial CCS

Carbon sequestration through industrial CCS or CO2 air filtration considers the risks associated with safe and permanent storage to be a significant drawback.
CO2 sequestration critics argue that compression can increase heavy metal pollution in aquifers. Furthermore, according to a study carried out at Stanford University, the compression of carbon dioxide has a high likelihood of weak earthquakes. A further disadvantage of this technology is that significant amounts of additional CO2 emissions are generated for capture, transport and compression of CO2. Critics fear that leaks can even increase the CO2 content of the air significantly.

At the same time, decentralized intervention systems already exist, which enable us to significantly reduce our CO2 emissions and athmospheric CO2. Although the effect of individual investments is marginal, the overall potential for impact is enormous.
The energy transition (Energiewende) in Germany, even if it has almost been forgotten, has already shown how much impact a decentralized energy supply based on municipalities and private operators can have. Nonetheless, it is doubtful whether the energy transition had a lasting impact on global CO2 emissions, as the objectives did not go beyond national targets.

THE EMISSION TRANSITION

The complexity of the issue can not be discussed further here, but it should be emphasized that municipalities, farmers, foresters, wastewater treatment plant operators, energy contractors and much more can act now with the combination of existing systems and intervention measures. This has not only a positive impact on greenhouse gas emissions but also on the economic situation of the operators.

 

The implementation of many decentralized combined measures to reduce CO2 emissions worldwide has the effect of an "Emissions Transition" as a whole.

 

These measures include the following:
 

  1. Reduce energy consumption / energy efficiency measures

  2. Regenerative energies (generate and consume)

  3. Compensate CO2 emissions (refforestation)

  4. Biological CCS *

In a BIOMACON machine, heat is generated from biomass. A large proportion of the carbon is decoupled before combustion and therefore can not form CO2. About 1/3 of the total energy is removed from the system with the carbon. In contrast, in the case of biological CO2 sequestration, the loss

*BIOMACON - Biological CCS

of energy associated with the decoupling of carbon is cited as the major drawback by critics.

The use of carbon (biochar) is versatile. Due to its high porosity, this raw material is in demand for water and air treatment as well as for improving soil fertility. Under normal conditions, the carbon is stable for more than 1000 years.

In the case of biological sequestration, logistics takes place via the existing infrastructure.
Only the carbon is transported. One kilogram of carbon binds 3.6 kg of CO2

Impressum: 

BIOMACON GmbH,

Schmiedestr. 2,

D-31547 Rehburg/Germany,

Tel +49 5023 9000254,

Fax +49 5023 9000256,

Mail: info@biomacon.com,

Web: www.biomacon.com
Register-Nr: HRB 100820 Amtsgericht Diebholz,

Ust-IdNr.: DE230915278,

Geschäftsführung: Ulrich Suer
Copyright © 2015 BioMaCon GmbH. All rights reserved.

Datenschutzerklärung:

Jetzt handeln oder auf ein Wunder warten?

Der Klimawandel stellt unsere Gesellschaft vor eine große Herausforderung. Die deutschen pro Kopf CO² Emissionen liegen bei durchschnittlich 9,6tCO2/a. Das weltweite Emissionsziel liegt zwischen  2,0tCO2/a pro Kopf im Jahr 2050. Ganz schön erschreckend, wenn man bedenkt, dass ein Urlaubsflug von Hamburg nach Mallorca für eine Person schon Emissionen von 1.226kgCO2 verursacht.

Einige suchen weiterhin nach "der" technischen Lösung, die dieses Problem für uns löst, ohne dass wir unsere Gewohnheiten verändern müssen. Hierbei kursieren unterschiedliche Konzepte von der Verschattung der Atmosphäre mit riesigen satelitenartigen Sonnensegeln im Weltraum, um die Sonneneinstrahlung auf die Erde zu reduzieren. Oder auch Luftfilter-Anlagen, die das CO2 ausfiltern und anschließend 2000m unter der Erde oder dem Meeresboden einschließen. Ähnlich wie es schon unter anderem bei CCS-Kohlekraftwerken erprobt wird.

Verschattung

CO² LuftFiltern

CO²

C

Q

C

C

Industrial CCS

Bei der CO2-Sequestrierung durch industrielles CCS- oder CO2-Luftfilterung werden die Risiken, die mit einer sicheren und dauerhaften Einlagerung einhergehen, als wesentliche Nachteile angesehen. 

Kritiker der CO2-Sequestrierung wenden ein, dass durch die Verpressung die Schwermetallbelastung im Grundwasserleiter steigen kann. Des Weiteren besteht laut einer an der Stanford University durchgeführten Studie bei der Verpressung von Kohlenstoffdioxid eine große Wahrscheinlichkeit von schwachen Erdbeben. Als weiterer Nachteil dieser Technologie wird gesehen, dass für die Abscheidung, den Transport und die Verpressung von CO2 erhebliche Mengen an zusätzlichen CO2-Emissionen entstehen. Kritiker befürchten, dass so durch Leckagen der CO2-Gehalt der Luft sogar signifikant steigen kann.

Gleichzeitig existieren jetzt schon dezentrale Interventionsmöglichkeiten, die es uns ermöglichen unseren CO2-Ausstoß deutlich zu reduzieren. Zwar ist die Wirkung einzelner Anlagen als marginal anzusehen, jedoch ist das gesamte Wirkungspotential enorm.

Die Energiewende in Deutschland, auch wenn diese schon fast in Vergessenheit geraten ist, hat schon einmal gezeigt wieviel Wirkung eine dezentrale Energieversorgung haben kann. Nichtsdestotrotz lässt sich bezweifeln, inwiefern die Energiewende eine nachhaltige Wirkung auf den globalen CO2-Ausstoß hatte, da die Zielsetzung nicht über die nationalen Ziele hinaus gingen. 

Die Emissionswende

Auf die Komplexität der Thematik kann hier nicht weiter eingegangen werden, jedoch soll hervorgehoben werden, dass Kommunen, Landwirte, Forstwirte, Kläranlagenbetreiber, Energie Contractor und uvm. jetzt mit der Kombination bestehender Systeme und Interventionsmaßnahmen handeln können. Dies hat nicht nur einen positiven Einfluss auf die Treibhausgasemissionen sondern auch auf die wirtschaftliche Situation der Betreiber.

 

Die Umsetzung vieler dezentral-kombinierter Maßnahmen zur Reduzierung des CO2-Ausstoßes weltweit hat in der Gesamtheit die Wirkung einer neuen "Emissionswende".

Diese Maßnahmen sind unter anderem folgende:

.

  1. Energieverbrauch reduzieren/Energieeffiziensmaßnahmen

  2. Regenerative Energien generieren und verbrauchen

  3. CO2-Ausstoß kompensieren

    • Aufforsten

    • Biologisches CCS* 

In einer BIOMACON-Maschine wird aus Biomasse Wärme erzeugt.Ein großer Anteil des Kohlenstoffs wird vor der Verbrennung ausgekoppelt und kann deshalb kein CO2bilden. Circa 1/3 der Gesamtenergie wird mit dem Kohlenstoff dem System entzogen.

Im Gegensatz dazu wird bei der bio-

*Biomacon - Biologisches CCS

logischen CO2-Sequestrierung von Kritikern, der mit der Auskoppelung des Kohlenstoffs verbundene Energieverlust, als der wesentliche Nachteil angeführt.

Die Verwendung des Kohlenstoffs ist vielschichtig. Aufgrund seiner hohen Porosität ist dieser Rohstoff begehrt in der Wasser- und Luftaufbereitung sowie zur Verbesserung der Bodenfruchtbarkeit. Unter üblichen Bedingungen ist der Kohlenstoff für mehr als 1000 Jahre stabil. 

Bei der biologischen Sequestrierung erfolgt die Logistik über die bestehende Infra-struktur.

Transportiert wird nur der Kohlenstoff. Ein Kilogramm Kohlenstoff bindet 3,6kg CO2

Impressum: 

BIOMACON GmbH,

Schmiedestr. 2,

D-31547 Rehburg/Germany,

Tel +49 5023 9000254,

Fax +49 5023 9000256,

Mail: info@biomacon.com,

Web: www.biomacon.com
Register-Nr: HRB 100820 Amtsgericht Diebholz,

Ust-IdNr.: DE230915278,

Geschäftsführung: Ulrich Suer
Copyright © 2015 BioMaCon GmbH. All rights reserved.

Datenschutzerklärung: